Monday, May 12, 2008

Definition of stupid

That would be going up to the race track with a bad cold and trying to race when the weather was horrible. It was cold, windy and even snowed some all day long. The hardest to deal with though was the wind, it was gusting up over 20mph most of the day so I had to wear my hood up on my hoodie all day long but it must have helped because I don't think I have pneumonia any ways.

So how did the day go with the race car?

Disappointing, but it didn't go to bad over all. The car was working just fine but the driver wasn't so sharp (bad cold remember). For my first round race I said the car would run a 12.11 and the car went 12.103 so I lost by .007 of a sec! The sad part is I was way ahead of the other car and I lost track of where the finish line was. They re-did the track over the winter and the finish line looked different so I didn't take my foot off the gas in time to slow down enough to not break out. It was kind of funny really, the car was running so well I just sat there and checked out all the gauges, made sure all was good when I realized my opponent was no where around. I looked around a bit for him then looked up and saw the finish line and pulled my foot off the gas.

My racing buddy, Mike, made it all the way to the quarter finals and had a great day. The guy was winning everything from races to coin flips for lane choice until the car got quicker unexpectedly. The person he lost ended up winning the race so at leas the lost to the best that time.

No racing this Saturday so we'll try again the following Saturday and see if I can do better.

No comments: